SPEEDING ATTORNEY IN DUNEDIN, FLORIDA
Just what does “speeding” mean?
While most of us associate speeding with driving faster than the posted speed limits, Florida Statute 316 shows that that is not necessarily the case. The Statute states that:
No person shall drive a vehicle on a highway at a speed greater than is reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard to the actual and potential hazards then existing. In every event, speed shall be controlled as may be necessary to avoid colliding with any person, vehicle, or other conveyance or object on or entering the highway in compliance with legal requirements and the duty of all persons to use due care.
Thus, the charge of speeding can be totally up to the discretion of the law enforcement officer present, however, most if not all roads in Florida have posted speed limits.
If I am cited for speeding what will it cost me?
According to the Statute if a person is cited for speeding the fines are as follows:
30 MPH and Above
Are there certain circumstances where the fines could be more?
According to the Statute, there are numerous situations which if you are cited for speeding during these instances or in these locations, the fines can be higher.
Exceeding the speed limit by up to 5 mph in a legally posted school zone will be fined $50.
Exceeding the speed limit in a school zone or designated school crossing shall pay a fine double the amount listed above.
Exceeding the speed limit in a posted construction zone, which posting must include notification of the speed limit and the doubling of fines, shall pay a fine double the amount listed above. The fine shall be doubled for construction zone violations only if construction personnel are present or operating equipment on the road or immediately adjacent to the road under construction.
Exceeding the speed limit in an enhanced penalty zone shall pay a fine amount of $50 plus the amount listed above.
Exceeding the speed limit by up to 5 mph in a legally posted enhanced penalty zone shall pay a fine amount of $50.
Cited for speeding and additionally violation of s. 316.1301 or s. 316.1303(1) (316.1301 Traffic regulations to assist blind persons; 316.1303 Traffic regulations to assist mobility-impaired persons) which results in an injury to the pedestrian or damage to the property of the pedestrian, an additional fine of up to $250 shall be paid.
Exceeding the speed limit within a zone posted for any electronic or manual toll collection facility shall pay a fine double the amount listed above. There are restrictions to this fine which are listed in the Statute.
Cited for a second or subsequent conviction of speed exceeding the limit by 30 miles per hour and above within a 12-month period shall pay a fine that is double the amount listed above.